High Tea at AK’s Tea Room (Redmond, OR)

I met up with a friend today and had my first high tea experience. We met at AK’s Tea Room on 6th street in Redmond, OR.

Let me just tell you. Downtown Redmond is such a cute little town. Most of the buildings look to be around 100 years old. This one in particular was an old red brick building that was so beautiful it had me thinking “Joanna Gaines would love this!”. My friend told me the building used to be a hotel. That makes it even cuter.

The woman who helped us was so sweet. I think her name was Kathy?

Anyway, they have an amazing menu that’s really easy to choose from. Price wise it’s very reasonable. You can order things individually or you can get a package deal where you get to pick a bunch of different things. We had the best tea I’ve ever had. It was orange and pineapple. I didn’t even know that was a thing! They had this one that was lemon and strawberry flavored (note to self: get that next time).


Cason had to have a cupcake once he saw them, so yes, I fed my child a chocolate cupcake for breakfast. Sue me.

We got the dill egg salad sandwhiches (delicious), lavender-rose scones (which were AMAZING), and the most heavily shortbread cookie I’ve ever had. And it’s gluten free if you’re into that sort of thing.

I just loved their pretty tea sets and the plates they serve the snacks on. I felt really fancy. At 10:30 in the morning. That’s kind of a big deal for me.

Now I understand what all the fuss was about when Jake and I were at The Empress hotel in Victoria BC during tea time.

Ps: I am now addicted to shortbread from this place.

